Honours and Garden Party Nominations

Honours and Garden Party NominationsHonours recognise the extraordinary achievements of ordinary people, and nominations for honours are welcomed from members of the public. The Prime Minister is keen that contributions to society are acknowledged.

The numbers of honours are limited, so only those who have given exceptional service, either nationally or locally, are likely to succeed. This does not mean that the contributions of other people nominated for honours go unappreciated or unnoticed. Being invited to a Royal Garden Party is seen as such an acknowledgement. Nominations are provided by the Deputy Lieutenants and cover people from all walks of life, particularly those who contribute to public or voluntary work.

The Queen publishes her Honours’ List twice a year. About 1,500 awards are made each time. Lists of honours are published on the 10 Downing Street website, in the Edinburgh Gazette and in national newspapers.

Cllr George Alexander, who read the Citation, L-L, James and Margaret Duncan( his wife)

Cllr George Alexander, who read the Citation, L-L, James and Margaret Duncan( his wife)

How do I nominate someone for an Honour?

Nominations for honours are welcomed from members of the public. The Prime Minister wants his list to be representative of society as a whole – men and women from all walks of life.

You may submit a nomination at any time. Receipt of your nomination will be acknowledged within 28 days, but it is not possible to provide any further information, or progress reports, on your nomination.

Questions commonly asked about Honours

Should I tell the person that I have nominated them?
No. It is not fair to raise a nominee’s expectations in case they are disappointed.

Do I have to say what sort of honour I think is due?
No. The Honours Secretariat will determine that for you.

How long will the process take?
It will take a minimum of six months to deal with an application in readiness for the New Year or the Birthday (June) Honours Lists, and is more likely to take 12-18 months for even a strong candidate to succeed, given the high level of competition.

May I nominate someone who is no longer involved in the activity(ies) I wish to see recognised?
Yes, but generally speaking only if they ceased their involvement within the past six months (further information will be found on the official nomination form).

How will I know if my nomination is successful?
If your nominee is successful his or her name will appear in the list published in the national newspapers at the New Year or on The Queen’s Official Birthday (June).

If my nomination is not successful, may I re-nominate?
Yes, provided the person nominated is still engaged in the work which prompted you to nominate in the first place. It is suggested that you do not re-nominate until 18 months have elapsed since the original nomination was made.

Where can I get a nomination form to complete?
If you wish to nominate someone for an honour, you can obtain an Honours nomination form on the Cabinet Office website: www.gov.uk/honours

The Lord-Lieutenant and Deputy Lieutenants are keen to assist with nominations and may be contacted through the Lieutenancy Office.

  • Seymour Monro Lord-Lieutenant of Moray

The Lieutenancy congratulates Moray Honours awards

The Lieutenancy congratulates  these very deserving people in Moray for the recognition they've been given by The Queen. The Lieutenancy is involved in the honour nomination process. Anyone who would like to nominate someone for [...]

  • MBEs for fostering Moray couple

MBEs for fostering Moray Couple

When the Royal official first rang Joyce and Ronnie Loveland to say they had been made MBEs they put the phone down on him. He called back and the very same thing happened again. Recalling [...]